Asus VK222H 22″ Monitor Review

Last weeks ago, I anounced that I bought an Asus VK222H 22″ Monitor from Newegg. I got it 3 days after that posting – record shipping (good job Newegg!). You can now get this monitor for $179.99 after mail-in-rebate ($20 less than it was one weeks ago). I have yet to recieve my rebate from Asus.

At first I tried to setup dual monitors. That is a little tricky in Ubuntu so I quite trying to do that. Make sure  you backup your .xorg fie. I have a nVidia grapics card so it wasn’t so hard to set up just the Asus monitor. Just make sure you enable your graphics card (System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers) because for some reason it disabled itself. I will try to set up the dual monitor again later in the year.

Once the monitor was setup correctly, it was great. I love the HDMI connection (even though I haven’t used it yet). It will let me play my new PS3 once I get it. Some of the reviews on Newegg said that there was LCD bleeding – there is.  The bleeding is only noticeable on a dark background on the top and a little on the bottom.  The response rate is also very slow.  My 19″ monitor loads the screen faster than my new Asus. This might be because when you turn on the monitor, it shows an Asus splash screen instead of the image you want to see – you desktop. I have not used the web cam but there is no audio input so there is little purpose in doing so.

For those on a budget, the Asus VK222H is a great buy with its different connection options. For serious color-lovers or fans of darker screens (for games) you may want to check into something else though.

UPDATE: Webcam driver support it terrible. If you buy this for a webcam – don’t. The webcam should not be listed as a feature beacuse it does not work.

3 thoughts on “Asus VK222H 22″ Monitor Review

  1. Pingback: ASUS VK222H 22″ Monitor « twodayslate

  2. how to win ex back

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across this board and I to find It truly helpful & it helped me out much. I hope to present one thing again and aid others such as you aided me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

