Saints

I finally decided to actually blog about something.

To my understanding, saints are holy people that have done miracles. If that definition is wrong then do not bother reading farther. First off, how can a average human being do a miracle? Shouldn’t God be the only one that is able to do miracles.

Second, there are a lot of “holy” people in the world that never become saints. Just because they were not on the TV or newspaper does not mean that they should be denied sainthood. Being a saint is a popularity contest. The saint that give out the most amount of money to the poor people get more ‘votes’ to sainthood.

9 thoughts on “Saints

  1. Stephen

    The reason saints aren’t being named as frequently nowadays is because Catholicism is fairly well developed (not many martyrs anymore) and y’know… science and reason are able to disprove most “miracles”.

    The Catholic Church is formal and hence, change is often a long, drawn out process.

    Reply
  2. Wizzel Cogcarrier Wizzleton IV

    Actually, the Roman Catholic and Anglican Churches’ doctrine is that anyone who gets into heaven is automatically a saint. The Roman Catholic Church canonizes anyone who the cardinals are absolutely sure is getting into heaven. We Anglicans think that is just silly.

    On a side note, how did you find my blog? Your comment on “The Fear of Girls” had me laughing out loud.

    Reply
  3. Chuck

    I found your blog in the ‘Tag Surfer’

    I do not think you are right. To become a saint you have to be in heaven but it is not garenteed that once you are in heaven you are a saint. Not many people go straight to heaven anyways.

    Reply
  4. Wizzel Cogcarrier Wizzleton IV

    Well, that’s one of the main difference (that definition) between Christian sects right there.

    Not many people go straight to heaven anyways.

    I’f you’re talking about purgatory, I have plenty of much more inflammatory views on that, which I hesitate to put here for fear of starting a flame war :p

    Reply
  5. mitchyd

    I’m not really big on this whole religion bit. I get flamed by the Thumpers when I voice my opinion, and in this case, if I spoke, I would understand why. In this case, I wouldn’t know what to say. Miracles, however… I don’t think they’re possible. A miracle is like… I don’t know isn’t it like “Divine” or something… In that case, Men could not conduct the act.

    Reply
  6. Chuck

    I’f you’re talking about purgatory, I have plenty of much more inflammatory views on that, which I hesitate to put here for fear of starting a flame war :p

    Please share. I will not flame peoples opinion. I however am in the mitddle on many views. I am going towards the pergatory side. It is impossible to become perfect, that is why it is there.

    it like “Divine” or something… In that case, Men could not conduct the act.

    I completely agree with you!

    Reply
  7. angryintern

    All I’m going to say on the subject of God, Saints, Heaven, Hell, etc. is that I’m not convinced any of it is real. I’m not saying anyone is right or wrong. But until God himself (or herself, itself) physically comes down, taps me on the shoulder, and says “Hey, I’m God,” I refuse to believe.

    Reply
  8. Chuck

    All I’m going to say on the subject of God, Saints, Heaven, Hell, etc. is that I’m not convinced any of it is real. I’m not saying anyone is right or wrong. But until God himself (or herself, itself) physically comes down, taps me on the shoulder, and says “Hey, I’m God,” I refuse to believe.

    That does not sound like faith. That is the whole point of” seeing is not believeing”. I believe there is a god, but am not sure about the detail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

